Category Archives: Extras

Extra content

Pixel Plays with Pernell! Ep 1: Super Daryl Deluxe


This week Pernell shares his thoughts on the new beat’em up: Super Daryl Deluxe!

In this new spin-off show, Pernell shares his excitement on new games he’s been playing! We’re going to keep these episodes short and sweet, but focused specifically just on video games. The show might end up with its own website and podcast, or it could end up a YouTube show! We haven’t decided yet, but the first few will be right on the Rhythm and Pixels channel πŸ™‚

Let us know what you think of the episode!


Mixtape 2-1 Phoenix Wright

Download mixtape 2-1 here!

Can you believe Rob didn’t listen to any Phoenix Wright music before doing research for this episode? It’s criminal. HE’S IN JAIL NOW.

This episode, and therefore this mixtape, is very short. That’s because Rob was moving to a new house at the time, we had to double-up on episodes so he had time to move and setup the new studio.

Track list:

  1. Pursuit-Cornered – Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney – Nintendo DS – Masakazu Sugimori
  2. Dick Gumshoe-It’s Detective Gumshoe – Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney – Nintendo DS – Masakazu Sugimori
  3. The Fragrance of Dark Colored Coffee – Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney Trials and Tribulations – Nintendo DS – Noriyuki Iwarde
  4. Investigation-Opening – Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney Trials and Tribulations – Nintendo DS – Noriyuki Iwarde
  5. Objection – Turnabout Jazz Soul – The Metamorphosis Jazztet


Mixtape 1-10 Racing

Download mixtape 1-10 here!

Music in racing games can be jazzy, funky, or hard hitting rock’n’roll. In all cases, it’s designed to move you, so you can get moving on the race track! Or the Koopa Beach, or wherever else you’re trying to go fast! This was also the first episode to feature our good friend Matt! Hi Matt!

Track list:

  1. Night Cruise – Shutoku Battle 2 – Super Famicom – BPS Sound Team
  2. Shout In The Dark – Moto Roader – Turbo Grafx 16 – Unknown
  3. Silence – F-Zero – Super Nintendo – Yumiko Kanki, Naoto Ishida
  4. Cairodrome – Wipeout – Playstation – Cold Storage/Tim Wright
  5. The Ride – Ridge Racer Type 4 – Playstation – Namco Sound Team
  6. Dolphin Shoals – Mario Kart 8 – Wii U – Atsuko Asahi, Shiho Fujii, Ryo Nagamatsu, Kenta Nagata, Yasuaki Iwata
  7. Blaster – Super Off-Road – Super Nintendo – Tim Follin, Geoff Follin


Mixtape 1-9 Shopping

Download episode 1-9 here!

What do you with all that gold? When your pockets are filled to the gills with Gil? Hit the shops and grab better weapons! Better armor! Stock up on health potions and GET OUT OF HERE!

Track list:

  1. Fast Food – Persona Revelations – Playstation – Kenichi Tsuchiya, Hidehito Aoki, Misaki Okibe
  2. Menu / Shop – River City Ransom – NES – Kazuo Sawa
  3. Shopping Theme – Popful Mail – Turbo Grafx CD – Falcom SoundTeam
  4. Cheap Shop – Scott Pilgrim vs. the World the Game – Xbox 360 – Anamanaguchi
  5. Shop Music – Lords of Thunder – Sega CD – Ts Music, Satoshi Miyashita
  6. How About A Burger? – Ganbare Goemon – Super Famicom – Kazuhiko Uehara, Harumi Ueko
  7. Rosenqueen Shop – Disgaea – Playstation 2 – Tenpei Sato


Mixtape 1-8 Cutscenes

Download mixtape 1-8 here!

Enjoy a selection of mostly classic 8 and 16 bit tracks composed for video game cutscenes! Bonus trivia! The picture of Rob riding the chocobo was lifted from a picture of him riding a statue of a horse in Pittsburgh.

  1. Cutscene – Target Renegade – NES – Tim Follin
  2. Awakenings Legend – Revelations Persona – Kenichi Tsuchiya, Hidehito Aoki, Misaki Okibe
  3. Plot Thickens – Batman – NES – Naoki Kodaka
  4. Treasure Hunter Nigel – Landstalker: The Treasures of King Nole – Sega Megadrive – Motoaki Takenouchi
  5. Cutscene Display – Gremlins 2 – NES – Naoki Kodaka, Nobuyuki Hara
  6. Grand Finale – Final Fantasy VI – SNES – Nobuo Uematsu
  7. Awakening – Final Fantasy VI – SNES – Nobuo Uematsu