Category Archives: rhythm and pixels

Rhythm and Pixels Video Game Music Podcast

Episode 18-8 The Dinner Party


We’ve been cooking all day, and we can’t wait for our guests to arrive. This will be a dinner party to remember! And you will! Because this is dinner party HARD MODE. Pick the right appetizer, eat the correct soup. Or there will be horrible (hilarious) consequences! I mean… this week’s show is all about music you can play in the background of your next dinner party! Also this week is the return of “Rob’s Trivia Time!” Can you guess the game from the Nintendo Power tagline? Let us know how you did!

Track list:

  1. Nocturne – Katana ZERO – PlayStation 4 – Bill Kiley, Justin Stander
  2. Blue Resort – Bomberman 64 – Nintendo 64 – Akifumi Tada
  3. Stages 1, 5 BGM – Dead Connection – Arcade – Yoshiro Horie
  4. Roux – Catherine – PlayStation 2 – Shoji Meguro
  5. Once A Dead Man – Desert Child – Switch, Steam – Oscar Brittain
  6. Random Forest – Super Cane Magic Zero – Steam – Bulby
  7. Dire Dire Docks (Mario & Chill) – Helynt
  8. Sweet mountain sneak man remix (Sonic Colors, Jet Set Radio) – LOGI
  9. Comfort Zone (Main Menu) – Sonic Mania – Tee Lopes



Episode 18-7 Ringtones


When we got our first cell phones, the first thing we did was try and get video game music on there! So when your friend calls you up, you hear some nice melodies from Koji Kondo. This episode all about the music we’ve chosen to be our ringtones over the years. We also hold many victory celebrations for unfortunate life events, and Rob talks way to much about DDR at the beginning.

Do you have a favorite video game song or jingle you’ve used for your phone’s ringtone? Let us know!

Track list:

  1. Congratulation Everybody – Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney – Nintendo DS – Masakazu Sugimori and arranged for the DS remake by Akemi Kimura
  2. Victory – Final Fantasy – NES – Nobuo Uematsu
  3. Rage – Double Dragon Neon – Xbox 360 – Jake Kaufman
  4. Dungeons – Startropics – NES – Yoshio Hirai
  5. World Map – Clash at Demonhead – NES – Michiharu Hasuya
  6. Green Hill Zone – Sonic The Hedgehog – Genesis – Masato Nakamura
  7. Super Select Remix (Marvel vs Capcom 2) – WizzyWhipItWonderful
  8. Final Fantasy VII – Victory Fanfare (Robotprins VS Toni Leys Remix)
  9. Battle Game Setting – Bomberman 93 – TurboGrafx 16 – Jun Chikuma


Episode 18-6 Happy VGM Solstice!


The sun is shining, the days are longer, and video game music is blooming all around us! We listen to golf games, talk Simpsons, and have an all-around good time!

This week’s show was recorded live for our Patreon members! If you would like to help support the show too, head over to Patreon page 🙂

Track list:

  1. VS Golf – New Everybody’s Golf – PlayStation 4 – Unknown
  2. Stages 2 and 5 – Jackal – NES – Atsushi Fujio, Shinya Sakamoto
  3. Hacking 16 Weight of the World – NieR Automata – Keiichi Okabe
  4. Hold Baroque Inside – Baroque – Saturn, Wii – Masaharu Iwata
  5. Cloud of Darkness Theme (World of Darkness Final Boss) – Final Fantasy XIV – Masayoshi Soken
  6. Toon Village / Snow Village – Motor Toon Grand Prix – PlayStation – Seiji Toda & Hideya Nagata
  7. Formerly Known As Assassin – Dead Cells – Switch, PlayStation 4 – Yoann Laulan
  8. Turmult The Slaughtered – Etrian Odyssey Nexus – Nintendo 3DS – Yuzo Koshiro
  9. The Glint of Cold Steel – Trails of Cold Steel – PlayStation 3 – Saki Momiyama, Falcom Sound Team jdk


Bonus Beats: Cytus Alpha, an Interview with PM Studios


This week we sit down and talk with the heads of PM Studios, publisher of great music games like Cytus Alpha, Deemo, the DJMAX series, and other great titles like Mercenaries Saga Chronicles and the upcoming Horizon Chase Turbo! We talk about their love of games and music, how they got started in the industry, and who has the most platinum trophies on the PlayStation Network!

Throughout the episode we’ll be listening to some of our favorites from their music game series Cytus (now available on the Nintendo Switch) and DJMAX. Enjoy!

Track list:

  1. Chemical Star – Cytus – iOS, Android – Tsukasa
  2. Sanctity – Cytus – iOS, Android – Rabpit
  3. The Black Case – Cytus – iOS, Android – Killer Blood
  4. Old Gold, Remixed by Apo11o ft 大瀬良あい – Cytus Omega – iOS, Android – Cranky
  5. Slit – Cytus 0 – iOS, Android – Ebico and Jioyi
  6. Future World – Cytus – iOS, Android – Killer Blood
  7. L2 Ascension: Act 2 (Liberation) – Cytus – iOS, Android – ICE
  8. Clear Blue Sky – DJMAX RESPECT – PlayStation Vita – Tsukasa


Episode 18-5 Capcom Chaos


This episode we think about games produced by Capcom, but maybe influenced by other games. Or ports onto other systems with special arranged soundtracks. It’s a chaotic Capcom episode! Pernell plays some heavy guitar riffs, and Rob plays some of the smoothest jazz arrangements he can find. There’s something for everyone!

Track list:

  1. Dante Battle – Shin Megami Tensei Nocturne – PlayStation 2 – Shoji Meguro
  2. Night Binder (Outside Makai: Moonlight Dark Castle, Morrigan) – Pocket Fighter (Pocket Fighter Remix, Arranged album with Capcom Sports Club) – Isao Abe and Tetsuya Shibata
  3. Cataclysm and Oracle – Cross Edge – PlayStation 3 – Kenji Kaneko
  4. Ready to Fight – Super Street Fighter II Turbo Grand Master Challenge – 3DO – Yoko Shimomura, arrangement and vocals unknown
  5. 3rd Boss – Cannon Spike – Dreamcast – Masaki Izutani, Toshiya Kobayashi, Michiaki Negoro, Katsuya Shikanouchi, Kokichi Ogi
  6. Magna Centipede – Mega Man Xtreme – Gameboy Color – Yuki Iwai (MMX2), arranged by Toshio Kajino, Saori Utsumi
  7. Napalm Man (We Are Rock Men  2) – Masahiro Aoki
  8. Knock You Out (Menu Theme) – Street Fighter III 3rd Strike Online Edition – Xbox 360 – Hideki Okugawa, Adam Tensta
  9. Link Mode – SNK vs Capcom Card Fighters Clash – Neo Geo Pocket Color – HIYA!, Mitsuo, MIWA (Shinsekai Gakkyoku Zatsugidan)