Episode 20-3 Sega Saturn Showcase


Rob believes the Sega Saturn had the most smooth-sexy jams than any other game console. Pernell believes creamy-dill potato chips are a part of your complete breakfast. THEY FIGHT. YOU WIN. Hang out with us and listen to some of the best music recorded for the Sega Saturn ever!

Track list:

  1. Incectia – Bug – Sega Saturn – Greg Turner
  2. Blow Up – Elevator Action Returns – Sega Saturn – Yasuhisa Watanabe, Zuntata
  3. Punky Pumpkin Castle – Silhouette Mirage – Katsuhiko Suzuki
  4. Mystic – Gouketsuji Ichizoku 3 Groove on Fight – Sega Saturn – Toshikazu Tanaka (Dencyu)
  5. Stage 4 Arranged – Battle Garrega – Sega Saturn – Manabu Namiki, arranged by Takayuki Ayhara
  6. Dark Rooftop – Last Bronx – Sega Saturn – Tomoyuki Kawamura
  7. Dreams Dreams soul jazz cover – Nights into dreams – N!ESS
  8. Magical Sound Shower (Remix) – OutRun – Sega Saturn – Hiroshi Kawaguchi
  9. Underground Labyrinth – Mystaria: The Realms of Lore – Sega Saturn – Yukiharu Urita


  1. The version of Blow Up isn’t actually from the Saturn version, but is a re-arrangement Watanabe did for the 1995 CD album (ELEVATOR ACTION -RETURNS- – https://vgmdb.net/album/1254) which carried over to the recent digital album releases on iTunes and Spotify.

    The Saturn version directly rips the in-game music from the arcade, which is arranged differently and lacks some of the extra segments and flourishes that the V.C.O. versions have.

    The in-game version:

    And yes, Yasuhisa Watanabe is the composer behind Elevator Action Returns, who at the time was a member of Taito’s sound team, ZUNTATA – just to clear up the confusion!


    1. A little error on my earlier comment above:
      The album is called “ELEVATOR ACTION -RETURNS- V.C.O. “CINEMA” MIX


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s