Tag Archives: toshihiko horiyama

Episode 9-3 Phoenix Wright 2 with Steel Samurai

episode_artwork83I don’t think anyone would OBJECT to hearing more great music from the Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney series! This is our second dive into the music from the series, which makes it part 2: this time, it’s personal.

Joining us on the show are the Rhythm and Pixels Bonus Round all-stars, Steel Samurai! They listen in on the tracks and bring their own perspective on this beloved game series. They also put up with our silly questions, and bring their own music to share on the show!

Steel Samurai are a rock band from Baltimore that plays primarily unused and obscure video game music with heavy power-rock guitars, jazzy organ melodies, and hard hitting rhythms. Listen and download their music here!

Track list:

  1. Ema Skye Scientific Detective – Apollo Justice Ace Attorney – Nintendo DS – Toshihiko Horiyama, Hideki Okugawa
  2. Investigation ~ Middlegame 2009 – Miles Edgeworth: Ace Attorney Investigations – Nintendo DS – Noriyuki Iwadare, Yasuko Yamada
  3. Thought Route ~ Resonance of the Synapses – Ace Attorney 6 Spirit of Justice – 3DS – Noriyuki Iwadare, Toshihiko Horiyama, Masami Onodera
  4. Questioning ~ Allegro 2007 – Apollo Justice Ace Attorney – Nintendo DS – Toshihiko Horiyama, Hideki Okugawa
  5. Investigation ~ Core 2013 – Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney Dual Destinies – 3DS – Noriyuki Iwadare
  6. Dahlia Hawthorne ~ Distant Trace – Phoenix Wright: Trials and Tribulations – Nintendo DS – Noriyuki Iwadare
  7. Strange Memories of Death – Steel Samurai
  8. Tornado Man and Concrete Man – Steel Samurai
  9. Trance Logic – Apollo Justice Ace Attorney – Nintendo DS – Toshihiko Horiyama, Hideki Okugawa

Download episode 9-3 here!


Episode 5-4 Mega Man Battle Network


Let’s keep the Mega Man love going, let’s listen to the music from the GBA series Mega Man Battle Network.  Pernell finds his inner Mega Man, and Rob talks about a snare drum for too long.  This series is a treasure-trove of excellent music, and it makes this episode a must-listen.

Track list:

  1. Journey of Determination – Mega Man Battle Network 4 – Gameboy Advance- Toshihiko Horiyama
  2. Running Through The Cyberworld – Mega Man Battle Network – Gameboy Advance – Akari Kaida
  3. Fire Field (FireMan’s Stage) –  Mega Man Battle Network – Gameboy Advance – Akari Kaida
  4. Beach Street – Mega Man Battle Network 3 – Gameboy Advance – Yoshino Aoki
  5. Peace Again (Credits) – Mega Man Battle Network 2 – Gameboy Advance – Yoshino Aoki
  6. Electrical Crisis (ElecMan’s Stage) – Mega Man Battle Network – Gameboy Advance – Akari Kaida
  7. Tree of Life (Piano Arrangement) – Yoshino Aoki
  8. Battle Network 3 Final Stage Remix – OrangaStang
  9. In the Room – Mega Man Battle Network – Gameboy Advance – Toshihiko Horiyama

Download episode 5-4 here!

Episode 4-7 Mechanical Stages


Gears, robots, machinery!  (machina yah?)  It’s machine music for mechanical stages in video games!  There’s singing!  Dancing! Rob mentions Turbo Teen! Pernell pitches the Back To The Future reboot with Yuzo Koshiro instead of Chuck Berry!  It’s a good time.

Track list:

  1. Factory Inspection – Kirby 64 The Crystal Shards – Nintendo 64 – Masayoshi Tanimura, Hiroaki Suga, Kenji Miki
  2. Level 1 – Metal Storm – NES – Toru Watanabe
  3. Ancient Makes – Legend of Heroes Trails in the Sky – Playstation Vita – Hayato Sonoda, Wataru Ishibashi, Takahide Murayama
  4. Space Station – Sonic Blast Man – Super Nintendo- Zuntata
  5. Expander – Streets of Rage 2 – Genesis – Yuzo Koshiro
  6. Global Network – Megaman Battle Network 4 – Gameboy Advance – Toshihiko Horiyama
  7. Devil’s Lab – Carson Mauthe
  8. Dat Egg Tho (Death Egg Zone) – Toni Leys applebadge-sm
  9. Behind The Circuit- Phantasy Star IV – Genesis – Izuho Numata

Download episode 4-7 here!