Tag Archives: mieko ishikawa

Episode 17-1 The Music of Ys with Chris Baines


It’s Monday, and that means only one thing. FALCOM SOUND TEAM + VOLUME FULL BLAST! Be prepared for guitars, rock drums, violins, and the baddest synths of the 90s you’ve ever heard! The long running Ys series has some of the coolest music ever put to video games, and we’re here to share the love, enjoy!

Musician, gamer, and cat-lover Chris Baines returns to gush over every drum fill, piano counter-melody, and bass guitar solo. He is a great guy, good friend, and okay Magical Drop player, and a bad-ass multi-instrumentalist. Check out his work here!

Track list

  1. Vacant Interference (Boss Theme) – Ys VII – PSP – Falcom Sound Team JDK
  2. Ys 3: Wanderers From Ys  – Be Careful! – TurboGrafx CD – Mieko Ishikawa
  3. Sunshine Coastline – Ys VIII – Takahiro Unisuga (Falcom Sound Team jdk)
  4. Tower of Guidance ~ A Kiss for Eldeel – Ys: Memories of Celceta – PlayStation Vita – Hayato Sonoda, Takahiro Unisuga, Saki Momiyama, Tomokatsu Hagiuda
  5. Scarlet Tempest – Ys Origins – Yuzo Koshiro, Mieko Ishikawa
  6. To Make the End of Battle – Ys I & II Chronicles – Yuzo Koshiro arranged by Yukihiro Jindo
  7. Ys VII – Crossing Rage! [Falcom Vs. JDK Band ver.]
  8. The Freak Winged Boy (Ys III) – Dr. Manhattan
  9. Whispers of the Goddesses (Ys I – Feena)  Yuzo Koshiro, arranged by Ryo Yonemitsu, featuring Shoko Minami
  10. Zemeth Sanctum – Ys VI The Ark of Naphitism – PlayStation 2 – Hayato Sonoda, Wataru Ishibashi

Episode 9-5 Ending Themes


No, this isn’t the last episode of the podcast, but with all these ending themes you just might not be so sure. This episode features songs with real emotion, sadness, and even humor. No really, stick around for the bonus round, it gets real funny real fast!

Track list:

  1. Ending – Mega Man 2 – NES – Takashi Tateishi
  2. Ending – Capcom no Quiz Tonosama no Yabou – Sega CD – Hikoshi Hashimoto
  3. Stay with me forever – Ys book 2 – pc engine cd – Mieko Ishikawa, arranged by Ryo Yonemitsu
  4. Ending 2 Next Cruise – Ristar – Genesis – Tomoko Sasaki
  5. Staff Roll – Shin Megami Tensei If… – Playstation – Tsukasa Masuko
  6. Ending Theme – Sol-Deace – Genesis – Motoi Sakuraba
  7. The Splode Beneath my Splosion – Splosion Man – Xbox 360 – Lonny Watershed
  8. Melody from the Past – The Megas applebadge-sm
  9. Champion – GP-1 – Super Nintendo- Atlus Sound Team

Download episode 9-5 here!

Episode 8-9 Awesome Women


To celebrate the new movie Wonder Woman, Rob and Pernell focus on games with strong female protagonists. There is lots of jazz, and argument discussion about the Final Fantasy series. We also form the first emo-jug-band, which is way cooler than it sounds.

Track list:

  1. CRASH MAN – Rosenkreuzstilette – Steam – Blue Sky
  2. Lea! Go! Go! – CrossCode – Steam Early Access – Intero
  3. Green fields – The Guardian Legend – NES – Masatomo Miyamoto, Takeshi Santo
  4. Paine’s Theme – Final Fantasy X2 – Playstation 2 – Noriko Matsueda, Takahito Eguchi
  5. Dela Delon – Brandish The Dark Revenant – PSP – Mieko Ishikawa, Atsushi Shirakawa, arranged by Yukihiro Jindo
  6. Stage 6 Detroit Car Factory – El Viento – Sega Genesis – Motoi Sakuraba
  7. Mischief Makers Fighting for Clancer – Azure Worm
  8. Kindred (feat. Jillian Aversa) – bLiNd applebadge-sm
  9. The Three Young Women – Grandia – Playstation – Noriyuki Iwadare

Download episode 8-9 here!

Episode 8-4 PC-98


Classic Japanese computer systems? We can do that! This week your hosts go on an adventure into awesome FM synth music and a surprising amount of risque RPGs! The NEC PC-98 series of computers were also the birth-place of Touhou Project, so you know there’s going to be some great shmup style tracks too! Let’s do this!

Track list:

  1. To Believe is a Power! – Only You Sekimatsu no Juliet-tachi – PC-98 – Shade
  2. Level 6 – Marble Cooking – PC-98 – Kasumi Mirai
  3. Mugen Yuugi: Dream War – Touhou Yumejikuu: Phantasmagoria of Dim. Dream (3rd in series) – PC-98 – ZUN (Jun’ya Ota)
  4. Tea All You – Variable Geo – PC-98 – Takahiro Yonemura, Naoya Shimokawa, Tatsuya Watarai
  5. E.N.K.A. – Flame Zapper Kotsujin – PC-98 – Nobuhisa Shinoda
  6. Jungle exploration – Popful Mail  – PC-98 – Mieko Ishikawa, Atsushi Shirakawa
  7. Think of You (Bad Apple!! Stage 3 Lotus Land Story) – NJK Records (Toho Euro Flash Vol. 1)
  8. Campanile of Lane Freedom Mix – coba
  9. Level 7 – Xanadu II: Remix – PC-98 – Falcom Soundteam

Download episode 8-4 here!

Episode 6-2 TurboGrafx CD


The show gets a few upgrades and add-ons this week with our focus on the TurboGrafx CD systems!  Last week we looked at classic TurboGrafx 16 music, but this week is music in the classic CD audio format Redbook.  It gets a little jazzy, a little funky, and then a little crazy with that Riot Zone track.  I’m still not sure what’s going on there.

Track list:

  1. Ending 2 – Dragon Slayer The Legend of Heroes 2 – PC Engine Super CD – Falcom Sound Team JDK (Mieko Ishikawa and Atsushi Shirakawa)
  2. Stage 5 BGM – Splash Lake – TurboGrafx CD – Ts Music
  3. Stage 1-2 – Spriggan – PC Engine CD – Unknown
  4. Stage BGM 7 – Riot Zone – TurboGrafx CD – Unknown
  5. Stage 3 – Ginga Fukei Densetsu Sapphire – PC Engine Super CD – Ts Music (Satoshi Myashita)
  6. Overworld Theme – Cosmic Fantasy 2 – TurboGrafx CD – Unknown

Download episode 6-2 here!