Tag Archives: nintendo 3DS

Episode 16-3 Underworld Driver


The theme this week is music and games focused around a single word! Well, since there are 2 hosts it’s really 2 words. But then they talk for way too long during the intro of the show and that’s many more words! Also, stay tuned in through the episode for a fun word-puzzle game that drives Pernell insane!

Track list:

  1. Underworld – Disgaea – Playstation – Tenpei Sato
  2. Winning Run – Ace Driver – Namco System 22 – Hiroyuki Kawada
  3. Underworld – Cladun X2 – PSP
  4. Title – Driver – Gameboy Color – Steve Rockett (original by Alister Brimble)
  5. Underworld – Kid Icarus – NES – Hirokazu Tanaka
  6. BGM 3 – Power Drive – Genesis – Kevin Bruce
  7. Underworld (Terraria) – Eris Falling
  8. The Driver – Desert Child – Switch, Steam – Unknown
  9. Underworld – Kid Icarus Uprising – Nintendo 3DS – Yasunori Mitsuda


Episode 15-4 Dragons with Gunblade X


Dragons have invaded the podcast, and we are the only ones to stop them! Or rather, we are here to tame them! We will ride them, RIDE THEM TO VICTORY! Joining us on this adventure is the video game rock band Gunblade X. Grab your sword, your shield, and be prepared to ROCK.

Gunblade X

Gunblade X serves up an explosive concoction of video game music, progressive rock, and heavy metal. Fueled by a desire to tell the stores of their games, the band brings a unique blend of arranged video game soundtracks and original video game-based tunes to the greater DC area.

Check out their new album coming this month!


Track list:

  1. Ridley’s Theme – Super Metroid – Super Nintendo – Kenji Yamamoto
  2. Stage 1 – Cyvern: The Dragon Weapons – Arcade (Kaneko) – Katsuya Yoneda
  3. Dragon’s Lair – Sonic & The Black Knight – Wii – Howard Drossin
  4. Counterattack – Shadow of the Colossus – PlayStation 2 – Kou Otani
  5. Main BGM Dragon’s Eye – Dragon’s Eye Plus: Shanghai III – Genesis – Eurythm
  6. Battlefield UE77 – 7th Dragon III: Code VFD – Nintendo 3DS – Yuzo Koshiro
  7. Elemental Master (Elemental Master, Gen) – Gunblade X
  8. Double Dragon III J! Groove (Dragon to the World In Japan) – Joshua Morse
  9. Area 2 Volcano Remix (Dragon Spirit) – FROG8bit(TADPOLE MUSIC)
  10. Field – Dragon Slayer: Eiyuu Densetsu II (Nihon Falcom) – Mega Drive – Mieko Ishikawa, Atsushi Shirakawa


Episode 12-5 Monster Party!

This episode is all about monsters in video games! Rob thinks it’s about games where you play as monsters, and Pernell thinks it’s about games where the focus is destroying monsters. Will this misunderstanding finally end their friendship!? Spoiler! Nothing can ruin their friendship. They talk about how to describe music and attempt to find more uses for the word ignorant.

Special thanks to listener Rebecca for the great topic suggestion! You’re the best!

Track list:

  1. Zinogre – Monster Hunter 4 – Nintendo 3DS – Marika Suzuki, Miwako Chinone, Reo Uratani
  2. Beyond the Mind and Reality – Shadow of the Beast – Amiga – David Whittaker
  3. Tower No. 3 Variation 2 – Azure Dreams – Playstation – Hiroshi Tamawari
  4. Forces of Nature (Character Select) – Bloody Roar – Playstation – Takeyuki Nagishi
  5. City theme – Monster Rancher 2 – Playstation – Hiroshi Miyazaki
  6. Stage 1: The Office – Gremlins 2 The New Batch – NES – Naoki Kodaka
  7. Sorry I’m Dead (Monster Party) – Ryan8bit
  8. A Violent Encounter and Revived Power (Shadow of the Colossus) – Chris Baines Music
  9. Blanka’s Theme – Street Fighter V – Playstation 4 – Keiki Kobayashi

Download episode 12-5 here!

Mixtape 1-4 Shin Megami Tensei

Download mixtape 1-4 here!

Dark, moody, and rhythmic. We love the music of Shin Megami Tensei, and this mixtape was an absolute pleasure to put together. Enjoy the Mega-Ten sounds of Tsukasa Masuko and Shoji Meguro!

Track list:

  1. Ginza – Shin Megami Tensei – SNES – Tsukasa Masuko
  2. Game Over – Shin Megami Tensei – SNES – Tsukasa Masuko
  3. Labrynth of Amala – Shin Megami Tensei 3 Nocturne – PS2 – Shoji Meguro, Kenichi Tsuchiya, Toshiko Tasaki
  4. Recovery Spring – Shin Megami Tensei 3 Nocturne – PS2 – Shoji Meguro, Kenichi Tsuchiya, Toshiko Tasaki
  5. Ueno Underground District – Shin Megami Tensei 4 – 3DS – Ryota Koduka, Kenichi Tsuchiya, Toshiki Konishi
  6. Respite – Shin Megami Tensei 4 – 3DS – Ryota Koduka, Kenichi Tsuchiya, Toshiki Konishi
  7. Ikebukuro – Shin Megami Tensei 3 – PS2 – Shoji Meguro, Kenichi Tsuchiya, Toshiko Tasaki


Episode 9-3 Phoenix Wright 2 with Steel Samurai

episode_artwork83I don’t think anyone would OBJECT to hearing more great music from the Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney series! This is our second dive into the music from the series, which makes it part 2: this time, it’s personal.

Joining us on the show are the Rhythm and Pixels Bonus Round all-stars, Steel Samurai! They listen in on the tracks and bring their own perspective on this beloved game series. They also put up with our silly questions, and bring their own music to share on the show!

Steel Samurai are a rock band from Baltimore that plays primarily unused and obscure video game music with heavy power-rock guitars, jazzy organ melodies, and hard hitting rhythms. Listen and download their music here!

Track list:

  1. Ema Skye Scientific Detective – Apollo Justice Ace Attorney – Nintendo DS – Toshihiko Horiyama, Hideki Okugawa
  2. Investigation ~ Middlegame 2009 – Miles Edgeworth: Ace Attorney Investigations – Nintendo DS – Noriyuki Iwadare, Yasuko Yamada
  3. Thought Route ~ Resonance of the Synapses – Ace Attorney 6 Spirit of Justice – 3DS – Noriyuki Iwadare, Toshihiko Horiyama, Masami Onodera
  4. Questioning ~ Allegro 2007 – Apollo Justice Ace Attorney – Nintendo DS – Toshihiko Horiyama, Hideki Okugawa
  5. Investigation ~ Core 2013 – Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney Dual Destinies – 3DS – Noriyuki Iwadare
  6. Dahlia Hawthorne ~ Distant Trace – Phoenix Wright: Trials and Tribulations – Nintendo DS – Noriyuki Iwadare
  7. Strange Memories of Death – Steel Samurai
  8. Tornado Man and Concrete Man – Steel Samurai
  9. Trance Logic – Apollo Justice Ace Attorney – Nintendo DS – Toshihiko Horiyama, Hideki Okugawa

Download episode 9-3 here!